Horspath v Harefield Cricket Club Saturday 1st XI on Sat 04 Jun 2011 at 11.30am
Harefield Cricket Club Lost By 3 Wickets

Match report After an impeccable start to their second season in the Home Counties Premier league, Harefield were unseated in a proverbial joust with newly promoted Horspath. Harefield lost the toss and were inserted on a damp wicket, a decision that paid immediate dividends for the away side, as in form opener James Hammerton fell in the first over without troubling the scorers. Regular wickets fell for Harefield, who could not manage to put together a successful partnership, with the only real resistance shown by wicketkeeper Simon Scott (31) and Doug King (28) who put on 45 for the 7th wicket. However more wickets continued to tumble and Harefield were finally dismissed in the 54th over for a below par 144. Harefield took the field with a stern task ahead of them, and things began as King (3-57) removed one of the openers early on. Horspath lost several more wickets before tea to a terrific spell of fast bowling from King and Mluleki Nkala (4-35), and re-emerged needing about 50 to win with 6 wickets in tact. However King and Nkala picked up 3 more vital wickets, and an unlikely victory for Harefield was looking more and more realistic, until Adam Krol (36*) managed to hold the Horspath tail together, for a narrow 3 wicket victory. This leaves Harefield in 2nd place, 7 points behind the division leaders, Burnham.

Harefield Cricket Club Saturday 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 10 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Simon Macey ct Jeacock bowled Skelton 24
James Hammerton b W.Eason 0
George Shiel ct and bowled W.Eason 12
Akshay Reddy ct Mohammed bowled W.Eason 20
Mluleki Nkala ct Wynd bowled Skelton 9
Luc Baldwin ct W.Eason bowled Skelton 1 1
Simon Scott ct Murray bowled Jeacock 31 3
Doug King ct Jeacock bowled Skelton 28
Dan Evans ct W. Eason bowled Jeacock 0
Dale Morris ct Skelton bowled Jeacock 5
Tom Day Not Out  9

Horspath Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
W Eason16.0437312.332.31
M Rana4.012500.006.25
M Skelton14.1443410.753.04
A Krol8.021500.001.88
P Jeacock 11.061936.331.73

Horspath Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 7 wickets
148 (0.0 overs)
N Murray ct Scott bowled King 4
J Phillips ct Scott bowled Nkala 14
R Eason ct Baldwin bowled Nkala 30
T Hutchison lbw bowled Nkala 15
A Wynd ct Scott bowled King 18
A Krol Not Out  36
W Eason lbw bowled Nkala 0
M Skelton lbw bowled King 0
J Mohammed Not Out  5
M Rana  
P Jeacock  

Harefield Cricket Club Saturday 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Doug King14.3257319.003.93
Dan Evans2.001400.007.00
Mluleki Nkala21.073548.751.67
Akshay Reddy3.00700.002.33
Dale Morris6.021900.003.17

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :
    Paul Dean