Harefield Cricket Club Saturday 1st XI v Gerrards Cross on Sat 11 Aug 2012 at 11.30am
Harefield Cricket Club Won by 9 wickets

Match report After a small hiccough last week in a recent run of good form, a drastically changed Harefield side welcomed Gerrards Cross on Saturday. Gerrards Cross won the toss and elected to bat, and openers Sam Westaway and Hamza Taj were immediately under pressure from a miserly opening spell from opening bowlers Doug King and Dan Evans. In a batting display not too dissimilar from Harefield’s last week, only Dan Hampton (37) provided any real resistance to Harefield’s onslaught, led by overseas player Mluleki Nkala (6-33). The Gerrards Cross line-up crumbled under pressure from all of the Harefield bowlers, with no bowler conceding more than 2.8 runs per over, and were eventually dismissed for exactly 100. Harefield’s run chase did not get off to an ideal start, with Richard McLeod falling LBW to MCC Young Cricketer Tom Hampton with the score on 5, but opener Simon Macey (40 not out) and number 3 George Shiel (54) put on an unbeaten partnership of 96 to win the game. The Harefield batsman didn’t fall into the trap of allowing the bowlers to settle into a rhythm, and took on ex-Gloucestershire bowler Vikram Bannerjee early, allowing him only 3 overs before he was removed from the attack. This win sees Harefield stay in 6th closing the gap between them and 5th placed Falkland to 5 points, and stretching their lead over Gerrards Cross in 7th.

Gerrards Cross Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
1nb 5w 3b 1lb 
for 10 wickets
100 (50.5 overs)
H Taj ct  Knife bowled Evans 5
S Westaway ct  Richards bowled Nkala 14
J Hammerton b  Evans 8
D Hampton b  Morris 37
M Watson ct  Knife bowled Nkala 0
V Banerjee ct  and bowled Nkala 7
J Kilgannon lbw  bowled Nkala 1
S Rimmer lbw  bowled Nkala 0
R Knudsen lbw  bowled Nkala 3
B Hunt ct  and bowled Morris 4
T Hampton Not Out  11

Harefield Cricket Club Saturday 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Doug King10.022000.002.00
Dan Evans9.0125212.502.78
Mluleki Nkala18.033365.501.83
Dale Morris13.561829.001.30

Harefield Cricket Club Saturday 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
2nb 1w 2lb 
for 1 wickets

(26.0 overs)
Simon Macey Not Out  40 93 70 4 57.14
Richard McLeod lbw  bowled T Hampton 2 10 13 15.38
George Shiel Not Out  54 82 75 9 72.00
Akshay Reddy  
Ollie Richards   1
Mluleki Nkala   1
Luc Baldwin  
Doug King  
Dan Evans  
Jamie Knife   2
Dale Morris   1

Gerrards Cross Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
T Hampton9.0131131.003.44
B Hunt4.01700.001.75
V Banerjee3.001500.005.00
D Hampton4.002200.005.50
R Knudsen6.012400.004.00

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :
    Paul Dean